Forum
#Topics
+Start a topic
?Search __________________________________

-Register
Youtube vids increased Monty Python DVD sales by 23,000% on Amazon !!!
24 messages
View: flat \ threaded
________________\________________________________________________\______________________________________

hito
hito
1745 posts

Re: Youtube vids increased Monty Python DVD sales by 23,000% on Amazon !!!

cyberpainter wrote:

...Being a visual artist, I do not think it's anyone's right to copy my artwork and use is as they wish. I want them to buy my artwork....

But artists and musicians have a right to make money off their creations, and to try to stop others from stealing it.

I understand what you are saying but what gives you the right to make money off your art? Before revox steps in with the legal explanation, I am talking philosophically here.

I am not having a go, I am just asking you and others to think about this.

Where does the right to make money off art come from? If you say you made it, you don't exist in a vacuum and other people have contributed in all sorts of ways. It is very capitalistic or libertarian to demand money for your creation. Moreover, art (of all kinds) borrows heavily from society and influences (Look at Stereolab. Where would they be without Neu, the US army etc?) and artists are the first to complain if Macdonalds sues for breach of copyright. For years, art was not a money making vehicle. Look at cave paintings and the entire history of music prior to printing and recording. The idea that someone owns a chord progression would still be considered a joke in much of the world.

If you have the right, how much are you entitled to? A rice farmer in Thailand is entitled to money for his rice but I will only pay about 2 dollars per kg so he has to accept bugger all. A souvenir maker in Kenya handmakes a statue but she cannot expect more than a couple of bucks for her work. Perhaps there are thousands of starving artists for a good reason.